Bacolod City Plaza Sundial

Bacolod Plaza Sundial

Bacolod Public Plaza Sundial

As I tour around the plaza, what caught my attention is the sundial, which according to Wikipedia is a device that tells the time of day by the position of the Sun. An ordinary bypasser like me won’t surely notice it or some may think maybe it’s just a circular stage misplaced within the area but no, it is purposely built so that our early ancestors could keep track of time, long before clock was invented. As I think thoroughly, maybe our ancestors depend greatly on this sundial. After awhile they were able to tell how much of the day was over by looking at the shadows. And I believe a plaza, where everybody crowd together, is just a perfect place to see it just like the Big ben in London.

Fast facts: The ancient Egyptians built tall stone towers called obelisks. Everybody could tell the time by looking at the obelisk’s shadow. Obelisks were sometimes called “Cleopatra’s Needles”.

a

Leave a comment